Top 10 Travel Apps

1. Trip Advisor

This is a great app to use if you haven’t done any research or planning and find yourself in a foreign city. I always check out the ‘things to do’ to figure out what I want to do.

Also useful for getting a variety of opinions and up-to-date information on restaurants(guidebooks only have one persons opinion).


2. SkyScanner

Skyscanner compares millions of flights to find you the cheapest deal. Just choose your country of departure. I saw flights from Jordan to places in Europe for as little as R400/$40. And unlike other travels apps when you find a flight and click to book, they link you through to the airline. No charges, no added fees. But probably the greatest thing about this app is that it allows you to travel places in your mindInstead of saying ‘I don’t think I can afford that…’ it opens your imagination to possibilities that were never conceivable before.


3. Google Maps

Google maps struggles in countries that don’t have English as their first language but is still a winner for helping you find your way… even when you have lost your internet connection;)


4. Google Translate

I’ve had whole conversations using translate… in Egpyt when I met people who only spoke Arabic, I typed what I wanted to say and they could understand.


5. Groupon

Another app that opens up possibilities that one never thought possible. Go to the Groupon website for the country you will visit and see if there are anything that you want to experience.


6. Skype

Do I really have to explain this one?


7. Dropbox

I take so many photos on my phone and I always run out of space. Dropbox gives you 5 gigs free.


8. Google Earth

Sometimes you need a birds eye view. When I was living Israel, in the desert I never realised how close I was to the beach… and the Gaza strip!


9. Ted Talks

For those downtime moments when you waiting for the bus, the plane or whatever. TED confrences bring together the world’s most fascinating thinkers and doers, who are challenged to give the talk of their lives in 20 minutes or less. 


10. Tripit

Tripit organizes travel planes into an itinerary that has all your trip details in one place. Great if you are as forgetful as I am. As soon as you book a flight they know and before you leave they send you a reminder.

Leave a Reply

